Lent

image
I’ve always liked chocolate, as this delightful photo from my wedding shows

I’m not a religious person, in fact I can’t remember the last time I went to church, but I am trying to lose a bit of weight and get a bit fitter. I often try to give something up for Lent, as my willpower is non existent but I like a challenge. I foolishly mentioned to a friend I was thinking of giving something up and we ended up agreeing that we would give up chocolate for the 47 days from Ash Wednesday (the day after tomorrow!) until Easter Sunday.

I’m mentally preparing myself for this, so today I have eaten two Bourbon biscuits and most of two Twixes (Imogen demanded one and then decided she didn’t like the rest and it would’ve been a waste). Tomorrow I will have a last hot chocolate until Easter, and probably another Twix (or two).

I have also warned the husband that I’m doing this. My birthday and, of course, Valentine’s Day fall within the next six weeks and it might tip me over the edge to receive chocolatey gifts that I can’t enjoy! I should add that other sweet thing, fudge, for example, is perfectly acceptable as a replacement.

Essentially, please take this blog as a warning that I might be extra irritable and grumpy for the next six weeks. And if you catch me in a compromising position please remind me that you know I am not meant to be indulging.

 

Leave a Reply

