What a few weeks

image
Me and my Grandparents

It’s been a long time since I felt I had the energy or inclination to blog. Quite a lot has happened since I last put (virtual) pen to (virtual) paper. We travelled about 1,000 miles over the Easter holidays, in two trips to Yorkshire; first to see my Grandma in a hospice and secondly to say our goodbyes at her funeral.

Her death came quite quickly and only eight days after the doctors told my parents and her that she had weeks left. The journey up there on Maundy Thursday was only the second time I have not wanted to be going to see my parents. But I will forever be grateful that I did as it meant she got to see my girls again and I was able to say my goodbyes to her in person. Not a pleasant experience but something I’m glad that I did.

Seeing her so poorly, having lost so much weight, and not really herself, has made me more determined than ever to run the full Race for Life distance. If I can help just one person not have to go through what she went through in the last weeks of her life I will be glad. Her death has taken my training up a level and given me a new motivation. So, if you see me and my pink trainers pounding the pavements of East Sussex, you know what I’m thinking and why there might be tears in my eyes.

Leave a Reply

