Summer planning

image

With the summer holidays almost upon me again I’ve started wracking my brain for things I can do with my girls to keep them occupied (and me sane!) over the summer holidays.

I’ll be putting together a ‘bored box’ full of ideas to keep those ‘I’m bored’ shouts away. There will be ideas of activities to do at home – games or craft ideas, some with an educational element (writing a story or practicing her time telling), and some just for fun (playing with a certain set of toys or bouncing on the trampoline); and also places we can visit.

We’re blessed with some beautiful places to visit locally and I’m determined to spread our wings and get out and about a bit over the summer.

One of my favourite places that I’ve discovered since we moved to Sussex is Sheffield Park and Gardens, near Fletching. It’s lovely for a walk and there’s plenty of space for picnics.

The old favourites will have a place too: Hastings for the Old Town, Alexandra Park and the shiny new Pier; Bexhill for the water fountains and Egerton park. I’m sure we will also make it to Bodiam Castle and Bateman’s for a bit of history and culture!

I’ll also be signing her up for the Summer Reading Challenge again this year. She really enjoyed last year’s, and we’ve talked lots about Roald Dahl books since I found my childhood copy of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and we read it together. Her reading has come on leaps and bounds this year and she can now read almost anything, which is great but also has its downsides (she now knows where the parks and shops are).

If you have any ideas for keeping occupied over the summer holidays let me know! I’m @esussexmummy or email eastsussexmummy@gmail.com. Or post your comments below.

Leave a Reply

