A good story is always a good story

 

img_3808
Sophie enjoying a Roald Dahl book in bed

Autumn is well and truly on its way, but I have lots of fond memories of the summer.

One my favourite activities was enjoying the Summer Reading Challenge through East Sussex’s libraries. Sophie’s reading has come on in leaps and bounds since last year and she loved finding books to read and completing this year’s Roald Dahl themed challenge.

I hoped she would enjoy it as I had found my copy of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory while I was clearing my bedroom at my parents’ house and we had been reading it together. She also loves the film which we have watched several times.

She really enjoyed visiting Heathfield Library to sign up for the challenge and doing their Roald Dahl character hunt around the library, and after talking to her about the different stories she was excited to get a box set of his books for her birthday. We’re slowly making our way through them all, in a slightly random and hotchpotch way, but she is enjoying reading about Sophie and her giant friend, and I am enjoying rediscovering books I haven’t read for years, and some I haven’t read at all (The Giraffe, The Pelly and Me).

I’m delighted she’s enjoying the stories as much as I did, especially 100 years after his birth. She’s even added some more books to the first draft of her Christmas list.

 

Leave a Reply

